2nd Workshop on Mobile Communications in Higher Frequency Bands (MCHFB)
in conjunction with IEEE Globecom’15
Home 5GCM White Paper Program CommitteeGlobecom2015

General Chairs

Dr. Wen Tong
Huawei Fellow

CTO Huawei Wireless

Dr. Wen Tong is the Huawei Fellow, Head of Huawei Wireless Research, CTO, Huawei Wireless. Prior to joining Huawei in March 2009, Dr. Tong was the Nortel Fellow and global head of the Network Technology Labs at Nortel. He joined the Wireless Technology Labs at Bell Northern Research in 1995. He had pioneered fundamental technologies from 1G to 4G wireless with 350 granted US patents.
Since 2010, Dr. Tong is the vice president of Huawei wireless research. In 2011, He was appointed the Head of Communications Technologies Labs of Huawei, he spearhead to lead Huawei’s 5G wireless research and development.
Dr. Tong was elected as a Huawei Fellow and an IEEE Fellow. In 2014, he was the recipient of IEEE Communications Society Industry Innovation Award for “the leadership and contributions in development of 3G and 4G wireless systems”. Dr. Tong serves as Board of Director of WiFi Alliance and Board of Director of Green Touch Consortium.

Takehiro Nakamura
VP and 5G Director of NTT DOCOMO

Dr. Takehiro Nakamura Takehiro Nakamura joined NTT Laboratories in 1990. He is now VP and Managing Director of the 5G Laboratory of NTT DOCOMO, Inc. Mr. Nakamura has been working for research and development of the W-CDMA, HSPA, LTE/LTE-Advanced and 5G technologies.
He has been engaged in the standardization activities for the W-CDMA, HSPA, LTE/LTE-Advanced and 5G at ARIB in Japan since 1997. He is currently the leader of 2020 and Beyond Ad Hoc(20B AH) in ARIB and Acting Chairman of Plan & Strategy Committee in 5G Mobile Communication Promotion Forum(5GMF) in Japan. He has been contributing to standardization activities in 3GPP since1999. He had contributed to 3GPP TSG-RAN as a vice chairman during March 2005 to March 2009 and as a chairman during April 2009 to March 2013.

Executive Committee:

Dr. Yi Wang [SM’11] received the M.S.E.E and Ph.D degrees in information engineering department from Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications, China, in 1997 and 2000 respectively. He has worked at Tsinghua University and the University of Kiel in Germany as post-doctor. Since 2005 he joined Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. he led a series of research projects including beyond 3G, superposition coding for LTE-advanced system, distributed antenna system, cloud RAN, and massive MIMO. Currently he is the principal engineer at Huawei and is leading 5G high frequency research.  

Dr. Amitabha (Amitava) Ghosh joined Motorola in 1990 after receiving his Ph.D in Electrical Engineering from Southern Methodist University, Dallas.  Since joining Motorola, he worked on multiple wireless technologies starting from IS-95, cdma-2000, 1xEV-DV/1XTREME, 1xEV-DO, UMTS, HSPA, 802.16e/WiMAX/802.16m, Enhanced EDGE and 3GPP LTE. Dr. Ghosh has 60 issued patents and numerous external and internal technical papers.  Currently, he is Head, North America Radio Systems within the Technology and Innovation office of Nokia Solutions and Networks. He is currently working on 3GPP LTE-Advanced and 5G technologies. His research interests are in the area of digital communications, signal processing and wireless communications. He is a senior member of IEEE and co-author of the book titled “Essentials of LTE and LTE-A”.

Dr. Stefan Parkvall (senior member, IEEE) is currently a principal researcher at Ericsson Research working with research on 5G and future radio access. He is one of the key persons in the development of HSPA, LTE and LTE-Advanced radio access and has been deeply involved in 3GPP standardization for many years. Dr Parkvall is a senior member of the IEEE, served as an IEEE Distinguished lecturer 2011-2012, and is co-author of the popular books “3G Evolution – HSPA and LTE for Mobile Broadband”, “HSPA evolution – the Fundamentals for Mobile Broadband”,  and “4G – LTE/LTE-Advanced for Mobile Broadband”. He has numerous patents in the area of mobile communication. In 2005, he received the Ericsson "Inventor of the Year" award, in 2009 the Swedish government’s Major Technical Award for his contributions to the success of HSPA, and in 2014 he and colleagues at Ericsson was nominated for the European Inventor Award, the most prestigious inventor award in Europe, for their contributions to LTE. Dr Parkvall received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the Royal Institute of Technology in 1996. His previous positions include assistant professor in communication theory at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden, and a visiting researcher at University of California, San Diego, USA.

Juho Lee is currently a Master with Samsung Electronics and is the lead executive in charge of research on standardization of wireless communications. He received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Korea, in 1993, 1995, and 2000, respectively. He joined Samsung Electronics in 2000 and has been working on standardization of mobile communications for 3G and 4G such as WCDMA, HSDPA, HUSPA, LTE, and LTE-Advanced and is also actively working on research and standardization for 5G. He was a vice chairman of TSG RAN WG1 during February 2003 through August 2009, chaired LTE/LTE-Advanced MIMO sessions, and served as the rapporteur for the 3GPP LTE-Advanced Rel-11 CoMP work item.

Technical Program Committee:

Prof. Katsuyuki Haneda, Aalto University
Yi Zheng, ChinaMobile
Koymen, Ozge, Qualcomm
Dr. Tetsuro Imai, NTT DoCoMo
Henrik, Asplund, Ericsson
Jian Li, Huawei
Mathew Samimi, NYU Wireless
Prof. Ying Xuefeng, Tongji University
Dr. Thomas Haustein, HHI, Germany
Dr. Charlie Zhang, Samsung
Zong Pingping, Intel

Copyright © 2015 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. All rights reserved.